Fanfiction: Enforced Heroics

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    Ataski
    Participant

All right, it’s not *really* in genre for this forum (which is why I’m not posting it to Brawna.com)

BUT I know there’s a lot of comic readers in here, as well as people who enjoy a moderately spun yarn.

I’ve been working on a fiction based on the setup from DC Universe Online. I’ve posted Chapter 1 below. The rest can be found here on: FF.N

I’m an aspiring writer, so peoples thoughts would be welcome, either on FF.N or here

—————————————————————————————————

My name was Rachel.

I said was.

In the future, the world was destroyed.

How are you supposed to conjugate a future past tense?

I was recruited – drafted – to fight against Brainiac.

Against the machine that is attempting to ensure the future remains unchanged.

This is my story.

I’ve lied about parts of it. Don’t complain to me that the geography is off. This is intentional. There are people I know, people I love, that I don’t want to see hurt.

At least I didn’t put parking lots around Wrigley.

I knew there were people with powers and technology beyond anything I understood, or even was expected to understand. Supers, they were called. Whatever the power, whatever the source, they were forces to be reckoned with. Some fought for personal gains and were labeled villains by the greater non super society. Others fought against them because it was the right thing to do. They got called heroes.

Even I, out in the sleepy ‘burbs of Chicago, had heard of the big ones – Superman, Wonder Woman, Green Lantern, Batman. Gotham City wasn’t even that far from here, just a straight shot north up the interstate. That is, close enough that Joker was considered just local enough to be worried about, but not quite close enough that one had to constantly look over their shoulder.